Within 21 days of a violation notice, you must either pay the fine online, by mail, or in person at the address to the right. Or you may contest the violation by mail or in person by requesting a hearing. You may not pay the fine and contest it.
Check the payment enclosed box on the envelope within 21 days of the issuance of the violation notice and mail the violation notice along with a check or money order payable to the City of Elgin to the customer service address above. Do not send cash.
Pay in Person
Bring the violation notice within 21 days of the issuance of the violation and bring it to the customer service address above, Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. The cashier accepts cash, credit cards, or checks.
Failing to Respond
If you fail to respond to the violation notice, a determination of liability may be entered against you. Failing to pay the fine and any penalty due within the time specified may result in the city filing a complaint in the circuit court to have the unpaid fine or penalty rendered a judgment in accordance with Section 11-208.3(f) of the Illinois Vehicle Code (625 ILCS 5/11-208.3(f)), as amended.
Vehicles located within the city may be impounded for failure to pay fines or penalties for five or more vehicular, standing, parking, or compliance regulation violations.
Your driver's license may be suspended should you fail to pay the fines or penalties for 10 or more vehicular, standing, parking, or compliance regulations under Section 6-306.5 of the Illinois Vehicle Code (625 ILCS 5/6-306.5), as amended. All notices will be mailed to the address of the vehicle's registered owner as recorded with the secretary of state.